Provider comparison

Where you can buy and safely store Bitcoin

We only explain Bitcoin. Here you will find providers where you can buy Bitcoin or hold it yourself – compared by the criteria that matter for beginners.

26providers · Last checked 28/09/2026

Inclusion

Minimum criteria for providers you buy from

Apps and exchanges with a customer account must meet all 5 points. Unlicensed P2P marketplaces (such as Bisq) are listed only as an alternative – without an ad link and clearly marked as unregulated in their profile.

Whether a provider offers only Bitcoin or other crypto assets as well plays no role in whether we list it. Wallets and tools are assessed by their own criteria, such as open source and security incidents. All criteria

Many providers here are exchanges that list other crypto assets besides Bitcoin. That does not rule them out: we only show you how to buy Bitcoin there – we do not explain or assess other crypto assets. Why we only explain Bitcoin

The 5 minimum criteria
  • MiCA licence in the ESMA registerlisted as a crypto-asset service provider in the ESMA register
  • Real bitcoinno certificate, no derivative – you buy actual bitcoin
  • Withdrawal to your own walletyou can move your bitcoin into self-custody at any time
  • Transparent costsfees and spreads are clearly disclosed
  • Two-factor authenticationyour account can be protected with a second factor

How this comparison works

Partners pay us a commission. That affects which providers we can link to – not how we rate them. How we rate →

Last checked 28/09/2026Order follows our assessment – not commissionChips show use cases, not a ranking

Comparison by beginner criteria

The key points at a glance. “–” means we have no verified information on this.

Buying Bitcoin: apps & exchanges

Main criteria and weighting

  • 30 %Security & trust
  • 25 %Costs
  • 20 %Bitcoin features & self-custody
  • 15 %Beginner-friendliness
  • 10 %Transparency & support

Methodology →

ProviderRegulation / supervisionOfferingSavings planLightningWithdrawal to your own walletFees (summary)Go to provider
21bitcoinBitcoin appchecked
  • Recurring buys
MiCA licence (FMA, Austria), 11/2025Bitcoin onlyfrom €10not specifiedYesInstant buy 1.49%, selling 1.49%, Auto-Invest savings plan from day 8: 0% (as of Sept 2026)
No partnership in your countryWebsite ↗
RelaiBitcoin appchecked
  • Recurring buys
  • Buys go to your wallet
MiCA licence (AMF, France), 10/2025Bitcoin onlyfrom €50not specifiedYes1% service fee plus an unquantified margin in the price, one savings-plan purchase of up to €100/month at a 0% service fee, card/Apple Pay/Google Pay +3% (as of Sept 2026)
No partnership in your countryWebsite ↗
StrikeBitcoin appchecked
  • Recurring buys
  • Lightning
MiCA licence (MFSA, Malta) since 25 June 2026Bitcoin onlyYesYesYesTrading fee 0.89%, lower only from €50,000 monthly volume; savings plan 0% fee after the first week; on-chain withdrawal with ~24 h delivery: €0 fee (as of Sept 2026)
No partnershipWebsite ↗
CoinfinityBitcoin appchecked
  • Recurring buys
  • Buys go to your wallet
MiCA licence (FMA, Austria), 12/2025Bitcoin onlyfrom €21YesYes1.5% service fee (min. €0.49) + mining fee, no spread (as of Sept 2026)
No partnershipWebsite ↗
BISONExchangechecked
  • Recurring buys
MiCA licence (BaFin, Germany): custody 01/2025, trading (EUWAX AG) 04/2025Bitcoin + othersfrom €0.01NoYesno trading fee, average Bitcoin spread 1.25% per buy or sell (as of Sept 2026)
No partnership in your countryWebsite ↗
KrakenExchangechecked
  • Recurring buys
  • Lightning
MiCA licence (Central Bank of Ireland), 06/2025Bitcoin + othersYesYesYesApp 1% plus spread; Kraken Pro 0.40% maker / 0.80% taker (as of Sept 2026)
BitpandaExchangechecked
  • Recurring buys
MiCA licence (FMA, Austria), 04/2025; also BaFin (Germany), 01/2025Bitcoin + othersfrom €10not specifiedYesBitcoin 0.99% per buy and per sell, plus spread where applicable; Bitpanda Fusion 0.25–0.02% (as of Sept 2026)
No partnership in your countryWebsite ↗
CoinbaseExchangechecked
  • Recurring buys
  • Lightning
MiCA licence (CSSF, Luxembourg), 06/2025Bitcoin + othersYesYesYesvariable: spread plus Coinbase fee, shown before you buy (as of Sept 2026)
BitvavoExchangechecked
  • Recurring buys
MiCA licence (AFM, Netherlands), 06/2025Bitcoin + othersYesNoYes0.15% maker / 0.25% taker, falling with volume; price-guarantee orders with a spread (as of Sept 2026)
BisqExchangechecked
  • P2P, no account
No licence – open-source software without an operating companyBitcoin + othersno savings plannot specifiedYesBisq 1: 0.15% maker / 1.15% taker in BTC; Bisq Easy: no trading fee, but usually a 10–15% price premium (as of Sept 2026)
No partnershipWebsite ↗
Hodl HodlExchangechecked
  • Lightning
  • P2P, no account
No licence in the EU – not listed in the ESMA registerBitcoin onlyno savings planYesYes0.75% per trading party, minimum fee usually up to $5; plus network fees (as of Sept 2026)
No partnershipWebsite ↗

*Paid link: if you sign up or buy through it, we earn a commission. Your price stays the same. How we make money →

18+ · Crypto assets are highly volatile; you could lose all your money. No deposit protection.

Storing Bitcoin: wallets

Main criteria and weighting · hardware wallets

  • 35 %Security architecture
  • 20 %Openness & verifiability
  • 20 %Ease of use for beginners
  • 10 %Bitcoin focus
  • 10 %Manufacturer & privacy when buying
  • 5 %Price

We assess software wallets without points – by open source, self-custody and known security incidents.Methodology →

ProviderOfferingOpen sourceSecure elementAir gap (no cable or radio)DisplayPlatformsPrice (approx.)Go to provider
BitBox02Hardware walletchecked
  • Works with a phone
  • Open source
Bitcoin + othersYesYesnot specifiednot specifiedWindows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS (Nova only)BitBox02 Nova €175 (manufacturer price for Germany incl. VAT, as of Sept 2026)
Trezor SafeHardware walletchecked
  • Works with a phone
  • Open source
Bitcoin + othersYesYesnot specifiedSafe 3: 0.96-inch OLED, two buttons · Safe 5: 1.54-inch colour touchscreen · Safe 7: 2.5-inch colour touchscreenWindows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS (Safe 3 and 5 limited)Safe 3: $59 · Safe 5: $129 · Safe 7: $249 (same amounts in euros, as of Sept 2026)
Blockstream JadeHardware walletchecked
  • Air-gapped
  • Open source
Bitcoin + othersYesNoYes1.9-inch IPS colour displaynot specifiedJade Core $99, Jade Plus $149 (plastic) or $169 (metal) (as of Sept 2026)
COLDCARDHardware walletchecked
  • Air-gapped
Bitcoin onlynot specifiedYesYesnot specifiednot specifiedQ $319, Mk5 $219 (promotional prices, as of Sept 2026)
No partnershipWebsite ↗
LedgerHardware walletchecked Bitcoin + othersNoYesnot specifiednot specifiednot specified$59 (Nano S Plus) to $399 (Stax), manufacturer’s prices (as of Sept 2026)
No partnershipWebsite ↗
SeedSignerHardware walletchecked
  • Air-gapped
  • Open source
Bitcoin onlyYesNoYes1.3-inch LCD (240 × 240 pixels)not specifiedParts usually under $50 (project’s figure) (as of Sept 2026)
No partnershipWebsite ↗
BlueWalletSoftware walletchecked
  • Smartphone
  • Computer
Bitcoin onlyYesnot specifiednot specifiednot specifiediOS, Android, macOSno purchase price; network fee when sending (as of Sept 2026)
No partnershipWebsite ↗
PhoenixSoftware walletchecked
  • Smartphone
  • Lightning
Bitcoin onlyYesnot specifiednot specifiednot specifiediOS, Androidnot specified
No partnershipWebsite ↗
Blockstream AppSoftware walletchecked
  • Smartphone
  • Computer
Bitcoin + othersYesnot specifiednot specifiednot specifiediOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linuxno purchase price; network fee when sending (as of Sept 2026)
No partnershipWebsite ↗
Sparrow WalletSoftware walletchecked
  • Computer
Bitcoin onlyYesnot specifiednot specifiednot specifiedWindows, macOS, Linuxno purchase price (donations welcome); network fee when sending (as of Sept 2026)
No partnershipWebsite ↗
NunchukSoftware walletchecked
  • Smartphone
  • Computer
Bitcoin onlyYesnot specifiednot specifiednot specifiediOS, Android, Windows, macOS, LinuxBasic version $0; subscriptions $120 to $2,100 a year (as of Sept 2026)
No partnershipWebsite ↗

*Paid link: if you sign up or buy through it, we earn a commission. Your price stays the same. How we make money →

Only buy hardware wallets from the manufacturer or an authorised reseller.

NextProviders in detail: strengths, weaknesses & key facts

All providers in detail

Short profiles with strengths, weaknesses and key facts. Order follows our assessment – not commission. How we rate →

Bitcoin apps4

  • 21bitcoin

    Bitcoin-only app from Austria: Auto-Invest savings plan from €10, 0% purchase fee from day 8.

    Bitcoin appBitcoin only MiCA licence (FMA, Austria), 11/2025

    • Recurring buys
    No partnership in your countryWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: 21bitcoin
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: 21bitcoin

    Good for

    • Beginners who want to buy small amounts regularly through a savings plan
    • Savers who want their bitcoin transferred to their own wallet automatically

    Strengths

    • Bitcoin only
    • Auto-Invest savings plan with no fee from day 8
    • Withdrawal to your own wallet for a flat 1,000 sats, automatically if you wish
    • MiCA licence from the Austrian FMA

    Weaknesses

    • Instant buy and selling at 1.49% are comparatively expensive
    • Your bitcoin sit with the provider (custody risk) until you withdraw them
    • Data leak via an external service provider in August 2026 (contact details, some account balances; no access to funds)
    • Aimed at Germany and Austria – if you live elsewhere, check first whether you can sign up
    Savings plan
    from €10
    Withdrawal to your own wallet
    Yes
    Fees (summary)
    Instant buy 1.49%, selling 1.49%, Auto-Invest savings plan from day 8: 0% (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Germany, Austria
  • Relai

    Bitcoin-only app where your bitcoin land directly in your own wallet – with a savings plan and a MiCA licence.

    Bitcoin appBitcoin only MiCA licence (AMF, France), 10/2025

    • Recurring buys
    • Buys go to your wallet
    No partnership in your countryWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: Relai
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Relai

    Good for

    • Beginners who want to hold their own keys from day one
    • Savers with a savings plan of €50 to €100 a month
    • Users who only want to buy Bitcoin

    Strengths

    • Bitcoin only
    • Your bitcoin land directly in your own wallet – no custody risk with the provider
    • One savings-plan purchase of up to €100 per month without a service fee
    • Relai pays the network fee when you buy

    Weaknesses

    • Minimum amount of €50 per transaction
    • Relai’s own margin in the price, which the price list does not quantify
    • Card, Apple Pay and Google Pay payments cost a 3% surcharge
    • You bear full responsibility for your recovery phrase
    Savings plan
    from €50
    Withdrawal to your own wallet
    Yes
    Fees (summary)
    1% service fee plus an unquantified margin in the price, one savings-plan purchase of up to €100/month at a 0% service fee, card/Apple Pay/Google Pay +3% (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    EU countries, Switzerland (not Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway)
  • Strike

    Bitcoin-only app with Lightning: buy, save with a savings plan and send – MiCA licence from Malta since 06/2026.

    Bitcoin appBitcoin only MiCA licence (MFSA, Malta) since 25 June 2026

    • Recurring buys
    • Lightning
    No partnershipWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: Strike
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Strike

    Good for

    • Savers with a regular savings plan
    • Anyone who wants to send and receive bitcoin over Lightning

    Strengths

    • Bitcoin only, no other crypto assets
    • Savings plan from hourly to monthly, 0% fee after the first week
    • No fee for on-chain withdrawals with around 24 hours’ delivery time, Lightning in seconds
    • No fee for euro deposits and withdrawals by SEPA

    Weaknesses

    • One-off buys cost 0.89% – cheaper only from €50,000 monthly volume
    • Bitcoin in the app are held by the provider (custody risk)
    • MiCA licence only since June 2026
    Savings plan
    Yes
    Withdrawal to your own wallet
    Yes
    Fees (summary)
    Trading fee 0.89%, lower only from €50,000 monthly volume; savings plan 0% fee after the first week; on-chain withdrawal with ~24 h delivery: €0 fee (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    EU/EEA except Hungary
  • Coinfinity

    Austrian Bitcoin-only broker from Graz, in business since 2014 – savings plan from €21, delivered to your own wallet.

    Bitcoin appBitcoin only MiCA licence (FMA, Austria), 12/2025

    • Recurring buys
    • Buys go to your wallet
    • Lightning
    No partnershipWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: Coinfinity
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Coinfinity

    Good for

    • Savers in Austria and Germany who only want to buy Bitcoin
    • Beginners who want their purchases delivered straight to their own wallet

    Strengths

    • Bitcoin only, in business since 2014
    • Service fee shown openly, with no spread according to the provider
    • Built-in wallet whose keys only you control
    • Buying over the Lightning Network is also possible
    • No fee for euro deposits and withdrawals

    Weaknesses

    • 1.5% service fee, also on the savings plan, at least €0.49 per purchase
    • Mining fee on top of every purchase
    • Only available in Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein and Luxembourg
    • You bear full responsibility for your recovery phrase
    Savings plan
    from €21
    Withdrawal to your own wallet
    Yes
    Fees (summary)
    1.5% service fee (min. €0.49) + mining fee, no spread (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg

*Paid link: if you sign up or buy through it, we earn a commission. Your price stays the same. How we make money →

18+ · Crypto assets are highly volatile; you could lose all your money. No deposit protection.

Exchanges7

  • BISON

    Crypto app from the Boerse Stuttgart Group: no trading fee, but a spread – withdrawals to your own wallet: €0 fee (as of 09/2026).

    ExchangeMulti-coin MiCA licence (BaFin, Germany): custody 01/2025, trading (EUWAX AG) 04/2025

    • Recurring buys
    No partnership in your countryWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: BISON
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: BISON

    Good for

    • Beginners who prefer a provider from the German stock-exchange world
    • Savers who want to move their bitcoin to their own wallet without a withdrawal fee

    Strengths

    • MiCA licence from BaFin, part of the Boerse Stuttgart Group
    • Savings plan from €0.01 with no separate fee
    • No fee for deposits and withdrawals of euros (by bank transfer) and bitcoin
    • Euro balances held at partner banks with statutory deposit protection
    • Custody insured according to the provider, at no extra cost

    Weaknesses

    • Average spread of 1.25% per buy and sell is built into the price, not shown as a fee
    • Bitcoin can only be withdrawn 24 hours after purchase; minimum withdrawal 0.001 BTC
    • No Lightning, no withdrawals to Taproot addresses (bc1p)
    • Actively offered only in Germany, Austria and Switzerland
    Savings plan
    from €0.01
    Withdrawal to your own wallet
    Yes
    Fees (summary)
    no trading fee, average Bitcoin spread 1.25% per buy or sell (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Germany, Austria, Switzerland; other EEA citizens on their own initiative
  • Kraken

    Large crypto exchange with an EU licence from Ireland: simple in-app buying or an order book, withdrawals via Lightning too.

    ExchangeMulti-coin MiCA licence (Central Bank of Ireland), 06/2025

    • Recurring buys
    • Lightning
    AdVisit Kraken (paid link, opens in a new window)on kraken.com

    18+ · Crypto assets are highly volatile; you could lose all your money. No deposit protection.

    Profile & details: Kraken
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Kraken

    Good for

    • Buyers who want to start with the app and switch to the cheaper order book later
    • Bitcoiners who want to withdraw to their own wallet via Lightning
    • Users who prefer a large, long-established provider

    Strengths

    • MiCA licence from the Central Bank of Ireland, valid across the EEA
    • Kraken Pro with an order book is cheaper than the instant buy in the app
    • Withdrawals to your own wallet via Lightning or on-chain
    • Regular proof-of-reserves checks by external auditors

    Weaknesses

    • Instant buy and savings plan in the app are comparatively expensive at 1% plus spread
    • Regulatory penalties and settlements in the past (USA, Netherlands, Australia)
    • Many other crypto assets on offer – we only explain buying Bitcoin
    Savings plan
    Yes
    Withdrawal to your own wallet
    Yes
    Fees (summary)
    App 1% plus spread; Kraken Pro 0.40% maker / 0.80% taker (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    EU/EEA, Switzerland, UK and others
  • Bitpanda

    Investment platform from Vienna with a MiCA licence: buy Bitcoin and save from €10 with a 0.99% trading fee.

    ExchangeMulti-coin MiCA licence (FMA, Austria), 04/2025; also BaFin (Germany), 01/2025

    • Recurring buys
    No partnership in your countryWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: Bitpanda
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Bitpanda

    Good for

    • Beginners who prefer a provider from a German-speaking country
    • Savers who want to buy Bitcoin weekly, fortnightly or monthly
    • Users who manage Bitcoin alongside other investments on one platform

    Strengths

    • MiCA licence from the Austrian FMA, valid across the EEA
    • Trading fee for Bitcoin clearly stated (0.99%)
    • Savings plan from €10 with no set-up fee
    • SEPA deposits and withdrawals without a Bitpanda fee
    • Withdrawal to your own wallet possible

    Weaknesses

    • 0.99% applies when you buy and again when you sell; spreads may come on top
    • Bitcoin withdrawals can take two hours or longer, according to the provider
    • According to an ICIJ report (2026), BaFin found IT security shortcomings at the German subsidiary in 2023
    • Very broad range of products – we only explain buying Bitcoin
    Savings plan
    from €10
    Withdrawal to your own wallet
    Yes
    Fees (summary)
    Bitcoin 0.99% per buy and per sell, plus spread where applicable; Bitpanda Fusion 0.25–0.02% (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    EU/EEA, Switzerland, UK and others
  • Coinbase

    Listed US crypto platform with an EU licence from Luxembourg – simple buying, an Advanced order book and Lightning transfers.

    ExchangeMulti-coin MiCA licence (CSSF, Luxembourg), 06/2025

    • Recurring buys
    • Lightning
    AdVisit Coinbase (paid link, opens in a new window)on coinbase.com

    18+ · Crypto assets are highly volatile; you could lose all your money. No deposit protection.

    Profile & details: Coinbase
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Coinbase

    Good for

    • Beginners looking for a very widely used app with a simple interface
    • Users who want to send or receive bitcoin via Lightning
    • Buyers who want to move on to order-book trading (Coinbase Advanced) later

    Strengths

    • MiCA licence from Luxembourg’s CSSF, valid across the EEA
    • Lightning sending and receiving in the app
    • Coinbase Advanced without a spread, directly on the order book
    • Listed company (Nasdaq) with reporting obligations

    Weaknesses

    • Fees for simple purchases are variable and not published as a fixed rate
    • Simple limit orders cost an extra 1% execution fee
    • Data theft via bribed support staff (2025)
    • Fine from the Central Bank of Ireland over failures in anti-money-laundering monitoring (2025)
    • Many other crypto assets on offer – we only explain buying Bitcoin
    Savings plan
    Yes
    Withdrawal to your own wallet
    Yes
    Fees (summary)
    variable: spread plus Coinbase fee, shown before you buy (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    EU/EEA and others
  • Bitvavo

    Dutch exchange with a MiCA licence from the AFM: 0.25% (taker) or 0.15% (maker) trading fee, savings plan in the app, no Lightning.

    ExchangeMulti-coin MiCA licence (AFM, Netherlands), 06/2025

    • Recurring buys
    AdVisit Bitvavo (paid link, opens in a new window)on bitvavo.com

    18+ · Crypto assets are highly volatile; you could lose all your money. No deposit protection.

    Profile & details: Bitvavo
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Bitvavo

    Good for

    • Cost-conscious buyers looking for low trading fees
    • Savers who want to buy Bitcoin automatically, from daily to monthly
    • Users who want an order-book exchange in a simple app

    Strengths

    • MiCA licence from the Dutch AFM, valid across the EEA
    • Low trading fees of at most 0.25% at the entry tier
    • No fee for SEPA deposits
    • Savings plan daily, weekly, fortnightly or monthly

    Weaknesses

    • No Lightning – Bitcoin withdrawals on-chain only
    • In 2022, €280 million of Bitvavo’s money was stuck at the crypto lender Genesis (customers not affected, according to Bitvavo)
    • Savings plan only in the app, not in Pro Mode
    • Not available in every EU country – check the country list
    • A very large number of other crypto assets on offer – we only explain buying Bitcoin
    Savings plan
    Yes
    Withdrawal to your own wallet
    Yes
    Fees (summary)
    0.15% maker / 0.25% taker, falling with volume; price-guarantee orders with a spread (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Supported SEPA countries (e.g. DE, AT, NL, BE, FR, IE); separate platform for the UK
  • Bisq

    Decentralised open-source exchange for person-to-person trading – no account, no identity check, no custody.

    ExchangeMulti-coin No licence – open-source software without an operating company

    • P2P, no account
    No partnershipWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: Bisq
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Bisq

    Good for

    • Advanced users for whom privacy when buying is especially important
    • Users who want to trade without a central provider and without an account
    • Small purchases via Bisq Easy from sellers with a high reputation

    Strengths

    • No central operator holding customer funds
    • No identity check, your data stays locally on your device
    • Open-source software (AGPLv3)

    Weaknesses

    • You trade with strangers – scam attempts and payment problems are possible
    • No supervision, no deposit protection, no official complaints body
    • Two exploited flaws in the Bisq 1 trade protocol (2020 and 2026)
    • Bisq Easy: at most $600 per trade, usually a 10–15% premium on the market price
    • A trade takes longer than buying in an app and requires coordination with the other party
    Savings plan
    no savings plan
    Withdrawal to your own wallet
    Yes
    Fees (summary)
    Bisq 1: 0.15% maker / 1.15% taker in BTC; Bisq Easy: no trading fee, but usually a 10–15% price premium (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Worldwide as a download (desktop, Android)
  • Hodl Hodl

    Bitcoin-only P2P marketplace: trade directly with other people through an escrow, with no identity check.

    ExchangeBitcoin only No licence in the EU – not listed in the ESMA register

    • Lightning
    • P2P, no account
    No partnershipWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: Hodl Hodl
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Hodl Hodl

    Good for

    • Advanced users who want to buy Bitcoin without an identity check
    • Users with their own wallet who don’t want to leave funds on a platform
    • Buyers who already know P2P trading and its risks

    Strengths

    • Bitcoin only, trading via Lightning too
    • The platform holds no funds – bitcoin go straight to your wallet
    • No identity check: an email address and password are enough

    Weaknesses

    • No EU licence, no supervision, operating company in the Marshall Islands
    • In a dispute, a member of the platform’s staff decides
    • You trade with strangers – scam attempts and reversed payments are possible
    • The minimum fee can make small purchases more expensive
    Savings plan
    no savings plan
    Withdrawal to your own wallet
    Yes
    Fees (summary)
    0.75% per trading party, minimum fee usually up to $5; plus network fees (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Worldwide, excluding the USA, Russia, Belarus and sanctioned countries, among others

*Paid link: if you sign up or buy through it, we earn a commission. Your price stays the same. How we make money →

18+ · Crypto assets are highly volatile; you could lose all your money. No deposit protection.

Hardware wallets6

  • BitBox02

    Hardware wallet from Switzerland with open-source firmware – optionally as a Bitcoin-only edition fixed at the factory.

    Hardware walletMulti-coin Hardware manufacturer – no financial licence required

    • Works with a phone
    • Open source
    AdVisit BitBox (paid link, opens in a new window)on bitbox.swiss

    Only buy hardware wallets from the manufacturer or an authorised reseller.

    Profile & details: BitBox02
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: BitBox02

    Good for

    • Beginners who want to hold their own bitcoin for the first time
    • Readers who want a device for Bitcoin only (Bitcoin-only edition)
    • Users who appreciate a companion app in their own language

    Strengths

    • The Bitcoin-only edition is fixed at the factory; the bootloader prevents switching
    • Firmware and BitBoxApp are open source; the firmware builds are reproducible
    • Secure chip plus open code (dual-chip approach)
    • Backup on a microSD card or as a written-down seed phrase
    • Works with Sparrow, Electrum, Nunchuk and other wallets

    Weaknesses

    • Like any hardware wallet: you bear full responsibility for your seed and backup
    • The microSD backup is not encrypted – whoever has the card has access to your bitcoin
    • iPhone and iPad only with the BitBox02 Nova (Bluetooth)
    • Contact data was stolen from BitBox’s email service providers in 2022 and 2026; in 2026, genuine-looking phishing emails followed
    Open source
    Yes
    Secure element
    Yes
    Price (approx.)
    BitBox02 Nova €175 (manufacturer price for Germany incl. VAT, as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Worldwide shipping (including Switzerland, the EU and the USA)
  • Trezor Safe

    Hardware wallets by SatoshiLabs from the Czech Republic – Safe 3, Safe 5 and Safe 7, each also as a Bitcoin-only edition.

    Hardware walletMulti-coin Hardware manufacturer – no financial licence required

    • Works with a phone
    • Open source
    AdVisit Trezor (paid link, opens in a new window)on trezor.io

    Only buy hardware wallets from the manufacturer or an authorised reseller.

    Profile & details: Trezor Safe
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Trezor Safe

    Good for

    • Beginners on a small budget (Safe 3 for $59)
    • Users who want open code and Bitcoin-only firmware

    Strengths

    • All three models also as a Bitcoin-only edition, at the same price
    • Open-source firmware, certified secure element (EAL6+)
    • PIN and passphrase entered directly on the device
    • Backup with 12, 20 or 24 words, can also be split into shares (multi-share)

    Weaknesses

    • Data leaks at service providers (2024 support, 2026 shipping) and a hijacked newsletter (09/2026) – phishing risk
    • Safe 3 and Safe 5 only partly usable with an iPhone (no sending)
    • Safe 3 has a small monochrome display and two buttons
    • As with any hardware wallet, you alone are responsible for the backup
    Open source
    Yes
    Secure element
    Yes
    Price (approx.)
    Safe 3: $59 · Safe 5: $129 · Safe 7: $249 (same amounts in euros, as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Shipping to more than 200 countries and territories
  • Blockstream Jade

    Affordable open-source hardware wallet from Blockstream: Jade Core without a camera, Jade Plus with a camera for QR signing without a cable.

    Hardware walletMulti-coin Hardware manufacturer – no financial licence required

    • Air-gapped
    • Open source
    AdVisit Blockstream Jade (paid link, opens in a new window)on blockstream.com

    Only buy hardware wallets from the manufacturer or an authorised reseller.

    Profile & details: Blockstream Jade
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Blockstream Jade

    Good for

    • Beginners on a small budget
    • Users who want to sign transactions by QR code without a cable
    • Users of the Blockstream App, Sparrow or BlueWallet

    Strengths

    • Firmware and hardware fully open source
    • Low-cost entry: Jade Core for $99
    • Jade Plus with a camera for QR signing without a cable, plus USB-C and Bluetooth
    • Genuine check and watch-only mode in the Blockstream App

    Weaknesses

    • No secure element: PIN protection relies on a server (blind oracle), by default Blockstream’s
    • According to the shop, the buyer pays any import charges
    • Firmware supports Liquid assets as well as Bitcoin – there is no Bitcoin-only firmware
    Open source
    Yes
    Secure element
    No
    Price (approx.)
    Jade Core $99, Jade Plus $149 (plastic) or $169 (metal) (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    International shipping via the Blockstream store
  • COLDCARD

    Bitcoin-only signing device from Coinkite (Canada) with an air gap via microSD, NFC and QR – more for advanced users.

    Hardware walletBitcoin only Hardware manufacturer – no financial licence required

    • Air-gapped
    No partnershipWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: COLDCARD
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: COLDCARD

    Good for

    • Advanced users who want to sign without a cable connection
    • Multisig users with Sparrow or Nunchuk
    • Readers looking for protection features against coercion

    Strengths

    • Consistently Bitcoin-only
    • Two secure elements from different manufacturers
    • Air gap via microSD, NFC or QR (Q)
    • Decoy and emergency PINs against coercion

    Weaknesses

    • Firmware bug in seed generation (warning of 30 July 2026); funds were stolen
    • Operation and documentation aimed at advanced users
    • Code publicly viewable, but the licence prohibits selling it (‘Commons Clause’) – not open source in the strict sense
    • USB cable (Q: also batteries) not included; import charges may apply when buying direct from Coinkite (Canada)
    Secure element
    Yes
    Price (approx.)
    Q $319, Mk5 $219 (promotional prices, as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Worldwide via the Coinkite store and resellers
  • Ledger

    Multi-coin hardware wallets from Paris with a secure element – from the Nano S Plus to touchscreens, no Bitcoin-only edition.

    Hardware walletMulti-coin Hardware manufacturer – no financial licence required

    No partnershipWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: Ledger
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Ledger

    Good for

    • Readers who already own a Ledger device and want to use it safely with Bitcoin
    • Users looking for a device with a touchscreen and Bluetooth

    Strengths

    • Certified secure element (mostly CC EAL6+, Nano X: EAL5+)
    • Wide choice of models, from an entry-level USB device to touchscreens
    • Companion app Ledger Wallet is open source (MIT licence)
    • The on-device Bitcoin application also works with other wallets such as Sparrow

    Weaknesses

    • No Bitcoin-only edition: Bitcoin is one app among many
    • Low-level parts of the operating system are not publicly viewable
    • Customer data leaks (2020, 2026), followed by phishing risk
    • Controversial backup service Recover (optional, with ID verification)
    Open source
    No
    Secure element
    Yes
    Price (approx.)
    $59 (Nano S Plus) to $399 (Stax), manufacturer’s prices (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Worldwide via the official shop and authorised resellers
  • SeedSigner

    Open-source DIY signing device: Raspberry Pi Zero, camera, small display – Bitcoin-only, no key storage, QR only.

    Hardware walletBitcoin only Open-source project – no company, no financial licence

    • Air-gapped
    • Open source
    No partnershipWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: SeedSigner
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: SeedSigner

    Good for

    • Advanced users who want to understand and build their own signing device
    • Multisig setups with Sparrow, Nunchuk, BlueWallet or Keeper
    • Readers who would rather not leave their customer data with a Bitcoin hardware company

    Strengths

    • Fully open source (MIT licence), reproducible builds
    • Stateless: once switched off, no keys remain stored
    • No Wi-Fi, no Bluetooth – data exchange via QR code only
    • Very affordable, interface available in many languages

    Weaknesses

    • Building and setting it up requires technical skill, sometimes soldering
    • No secure element – security depends entirely on your seed backup
    • The seed has to be loaded again each time you use it (e.g. via SeedQR)
    • No manufacturer support, help only from the community
    Open source
    Yes
    Secure element
    No
    Price (approx.)
    Parts usually under $50 (project’s figure) (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Worldwide – parts from electronics retailers, open-source software on GitHub

*Paid link: if you sign up or buy through it, we earn a commission. Your price stays the same. How we make money →

Only buy hardware wallets from the manufacturer or an authorised reseller.

Software wallets5

  • BlueWallet

    Open-source wallet with no purchase price for iPhone, Android and Mac – Bitcoin only, with multisig, watch-only and hardware wallet support.

    Software walletBitcoin only Non-custodial software – no financial licence required

    • Smartphone
    • Computer
    • Lightning
    No partnershipWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: BlueWallet
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: BlueWallet

    Good for

    • Beginners looking for their first own wallet on a smartphone
    • Users who want to keep an eye on a hardware wallet from their phone (watch-only)
    • Advanced users who want to coordinate multisig on a smartphone

    Strengths

    • Bitcoin only, open source (MIT licence)
    • Watch-only and works with hardware wallets such as Jade, COLDCARD or Keystone
    • Multisig vaults, coin control, fee bumping after sending (RBF/CPFP)
    • Interface available in many languages

    Weaknesses

    • Lightning only with your own LNDHub server – hardly practical for beginners
    • Hot wallet on a smartphone: for larger amounts, a hardware wallet is safer
    Open source
    Yes
    Price (approx.)
    no purchase price; network fee when sending (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Worldwide via the App Store, Google Play and as an APK
  • Phoenix

    Lightning wallet from ACINQ where you hold the keys: a real Lightning node on your smartphone, with no channel management.

    Software walletBitcoin only Non-custodial software – no financial licence required

    • Smartphone
    • Lightning
    No partnershipWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: Phoenix
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Phoenix

    Good for

    • Users who want to send small amounts quickly and cheaply via Lightning
    • Beginners who want to try Lightning without managing channels themselves

    Strengths

    • Self-custody with a 12-word recovery phrase
    • Open source (Apache 2.0)
    • No manual channel management thanks to splicing (one dynamic channel)
    • Receive and send via Lightning and on-chain in one app

    Weaknesses

    • According to its own FAQ, ACINQ sees the destination and amount of your payments
    • Channel and liquidity fees make very small first deposits expensive
    • If ACINQ fails, getting your funds back on-chain takes around 5 days and costs high fees
    Open source
    Yes
    Available in
    App Store and Google Play; Android also as an APK via GitHub
  • Blockstream App

    Formerly Blockstream Green: open-source wallet for smartphone and desktop, with Jade support, Liquid and Lightning (beta).

    Software walletMulti-coin Non-custodial software – no financial licence required; buying feature via external partners

    • Smartphone
    • Computer
    • Lightning
    No partnershipWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: Blockstream App
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Blockstream App

    Good for

    • Beginners who want to start with a simple app and upgrade later
    • Owners of a Blockstream Jade
    • Users who want the same wallet on smartphone and desktop

    Strengths

    • Fully open source
    • Available for smartphone and desktop
    • Close integration with Jade, including watch-only mode
    • Connection to your own node and via Tor possible

    Weaknesses

    • Not Bitcoin-only: Liquid and its tokens are integrated
    • Liquid relies on a federation of companies – a different trust model from Bitcoin
    • 2FA accounts depend on Blockstream as co-signer and can only be restored in the app
    • Lightning still in beta
    Open source
    Yes
    Price (approx.)
    no purchase price; network fee when sending (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Worldwide via the App Store, Google Play, F-Droid and as a desktop download
  • Sparrow Wallet

    Bitcoin desktop wallet with no purchase price and full transparency: coin control, PSBT, multisig and support for most hardware wallets.

    Software walletBitcoin only Non-custodial software – no financial licence required

    • Computer
    No partnershipWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: Sparrow Wallet
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Sparrow Wallet

    Good for

    • Hardware wallet owners who want more control on their computer
    • Advanced users who want to set up multisig
    • Users with their own Bitcoin node

    Strengths

    • Open source (Apache 2.0), reproducible builds
    • Supports Trezor, Ledger, BitBox02, Jade, COLDCARD, SeedSigner, Keystone and more
    • Air gap via QR code or microSD possible
    • Coin control and a detailed transaction view
    • Connects to your own node or your own Electrum server, also via Tor

    Weaknesses

    • Desktop only, no smartphone app
    • Lots of technical terms – demanding for your very first steps
    • With public servers, you share your wallet data with the operator
    • Interface and guides in English only, no support team
    Open source
    Yes
    Price (approx.)
    no purchase price (donations welcome); network fee when sending (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Worldwide as a download with no purchase price
  • Nunchuk

    Multisig wallet for smartphone and desktop – no subscription if you do it yourself, subscriptions for assisted multisig and inheritance.

    Software walletBitcoin only Non-custodial software – no financial licence required

    • Smartphone
    • Computer
    No partnershipWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: Nunchuk
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Nunchuk

    Good for

    • Advanced users who want to combine several hardware wallets into a multisig
    • Families looking for an inheritance solution without a custodian
    • Users who want to coordinate multisig on a smartphone too

    Strengths

    • Do-it-yourself single-signature and multisig wallets, no subscription
    • Supports many hardware wallets, including SeedSigner, COLDCARD and Jade
    • Inheritance via an on-chain timelock that is designed to work without Nunchuk
    • Code for the desktop app, Android app and core library is public (GPL-3.0)
    • No identity check, not even for the subscription plans

    Weaknesses

    • On the subscription plans, Nunchuk co-holds one key
    • Subscriptions cost $120 to $2,100 a year, plus the hardware wallets
    • Multisig is considerably more complex than a simple wallet
    • Website and guides in English only
    Open source
    Yes
    Price (approx.)
    Basic version $0; subscriptions $120 to $2,100 a year (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Worldwide via the App Store, Google Play and as a desktop download

Tools4

  • Blockplate

    Stainless steel plate for your seed backup: letters are punched in as dots – grade A in all three of Lopp’s stress tests.

    ToolMulti-coin Accessory manufacturer – no financial licence required

    • Metal seed backup
    No partnershipWebsite ↗
    Profile & details: Blockplate
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Blockplate

    Good for

    • Anyone who wants to protect their seed phrase against fire and water
    • Users looking for a simple solution with no moving parts

    Strengths

    • Grade A in Jameson Lopp’s stress test – no data loss from heat, acid or crushing
    • Simple principle: one plate, one grid, punched dots
    • 304 stainless steel, no electronics

    Weaknesses

    • Manufacturer’s shop unavailable on 28 September 2026
    • You need a centre punch and some force to mark the plate
    • Anyone who finds the plate can read the seed – a secure storage place is essential
    Price (approx.)
    approx. $79 (shop price currently not verifiable, as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Manufacturer’s shop unavailable on 28 September 2026
  • Cryptosteel

    Stainless steel metal backups with individual letter tiles: Cassette, Capsule and the newer Seed24 range.

    ToolMulti-coin Accessory manufacturer – no financial licence required

    • Metal seed backup
    Profile & details: Cryptosteel
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Cryptosteel

    Good for

    • Users who want to store their seed phrase in metal without a hammer and punch
    • Readers looking for a backup with visible tamper evidence (seal)

    Strengths

    • No punching needed: letter tiles are slotted in
    • Capsule graded A- overall in Lopp’s stress test
    • Seals make any opening visible, with a serial number on Seed24
    • Ships to the EU from an EU warehouse without customs duties; payment in bitcoin possible

    Weaknesses

    • Cassette only graded D in Lopp’s crush test – tiles fell out
    • Filling it tile by tile is tedious, and letters are easily mixed up
    • Seed24 has not been tested by Lopp
    • Outside the EU, customs duties and import charges may apply
    Price (approx.)
    Cassette Solo $149, same figures in euros (as of Sept 2026)
    Available in
    Worldwide shipping (except Russia)
  • Blockpit

    Crypto tax software from Linz: imports your Bitcoin transactions and creates tax reports, including for Germany and Austria.

    ToolMulti-coin Software provider – no financial licence required; not a tax adviser

    • Tax report
    Profile & details: Blockpit
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: Blockpit

    Good for

    • Investors in Germany, Austria or Switzerland with many transactions across several exchanges
    • Users who want to keep track of the holding periods of their bitcoin
    • Readers who want to give their tax adviser a well-organised overview

    Strengths

    • Provider from the German-speaking region, interface in German and English
    • Import via API, wallet address or CSV – from more than 3,000 sources, according to the provider
    • Holding-period tracker; for Germany, the figures for Anlage SO
    • Read-only API keys, hosting in Austria without cloud providers
    • Optional review by experts for an extra charge

    Weaknesses

    • Paid per tax year; the price rises with the number of transactions
    • You hand your entire transaction history to a service provider
    • The result is only as good as the imported data – you need to check it
    • Does not replace tax advice
    Available in
    Tax reports for many countries, including Germany, Austria and Switzerland
  • CoinTracking

    Portfolio and tax software from Gräfelfing near Munich, since 2012: imports transactions, creates tax reports for over 100 countries.

    ToolMulti-coin Software provider – no financial licence required; not a tax adviser

    • Tax report
    Profile & details: CoinTracking
    Good for · Strengths & weaknesses · Key factsDetails: CoinTracking

    Good for

    • Users with many transactions across several exchanges and wallets
    • Readers who want to give their tax adviser a complete overview

    Strengths

    • On the market since 2012, based in Germany
    • One plan covers tax reports for all tax years
    • Import via API, CSV or blockchain address
    • ISO 27001 certification for information security
    • Payment in bitcoin also possible (5% discount)

    Weaknesses

    • Without a subscription, only the portfolio view after the trial – no new imports
    • Lots of features – it takes time to learn
    • Phishing emails in CoinTracking’s name via an email service provider (09/2026)
    • Does not replace tax advice
    Platforms
    Web, iOS, Android
    Available in
    Worldwide, tax reports for more than 100 countries

*Paid link: if you sign up or buy through it, we earn a commission. Your price stays the same. How we make money →

BackTo the comparison by beginner criteria

Keyboard shortcuts

⌘K /
Open search
`
Open Bitcoin terminal
T
Toggle light/dark
?
This help

Tip: type “help” in the terminal.

Pre-launch

We’re still building – block by block.

Blockchain21 is already open, and you’re welcome to look around. We haven’t officially launched yet, though: some details are still missing, may change or don’t quite fit together yet.

Not finished yet

  • Email Messages to support@blockchain21.net don’t arrive yet. Until then, you can reach us by post – the address is in the legal notice.
  • Newsletter Sign-up opens once our mailbox is running.
  • Reader account Coming later. Until then, your browser keeps your progress.
  • Partners No partnership is active yet – providers are listed without ads.
  • Info pages The privacy policy, transparency page and “About us” still lack some details.

Already in place: learning path, articles, glossary, calculators and live data.

Block 0 · Genesis — Bitcoin, too, began with block 0 As of 5 October 2026